The highest decision-making body in the Governing Body of Suomenlinna is the Board that convenes 3–4 times a year. It consists of representatives of four ministries, the City of Helsinki, the National Board of Antiquities, Senate Properties, the residents of Suomenlinna and the Governing Body.

The composition of the Board nominated by the Ministry of Education and Culture, 1 May 2019–30 April 2022:

  • Joni Hiitola, Ministry of Education and Culture
  • Sara Kajander, Ministry of Defence
  • Merja Salmi, Ministry of Finance
  • Tapio Hiltunen, Criminal Sanctions Agency
  • Selja Flink, Senate Properties
  • Sirkkaliisa Jetsonen, National Board of Antiquities
  • Rikhard Manninen, City of Helsinki
  • Kai Heinonen, Parish Union of Helsinki
  • Jaakko Pekki, Representative of the residents of Suomenlinna
  • Pauliina Harvikka, Governing Body of Suomenlinna
  • Jaakko Pekki, Governing Body of Suomenlinna
  • Ilari Kurri, Governing Body of Suomenlinna
  • Executive Coordinator: Tarja Jylhä, Governing Body of Suomenlinna